Sometimes it’s hard to be forgiving

Anonymous asked:

Coming back to university and unfamiliar with the they/ them genderqueer movement, I want to wear some kind of button that says “I am trying, but my brain sometimes short circuits my best efforts”. I got snapped at today for saying “she” instead of “they” even though I get that right most of the time. Everyone needs to be understanding and forgiving. Prying open the binary gender box will take more time. Keep being awesome

Hello Anonymous! Thank you for your message and support! I agree – everyone needs to be understanding and forgiving, and I’m sorry you got snapped at.

When people do that to me about something identity-related when I make a mistake (oh yes), I try to take care of myself in the situation by remembering and repeating to myself that what I am getting from them is the result of repeated, systematic refusals to use their pronouns (for example). That kind of blow-back builds up inside a person until it bursts, and usually at the wrong other (i.e., a nice person who made a mistake, as opposed to a repeat bully).

So, I hear you. And, as an ally, I want to suggest that your first response be compassion and understanding. That person just might not have it in them today to recognize that you are trying your best.

Warmly,

Lee

One comment

  1. I’ve just recently come out, and so, I’m still getting misnamed and pronouned a lot. I try my best not to get upset because I know it’s not intentional (if it IS intentional, that’s different) but I also try to help others help me by explaining that I can’t help how it hurts either. I try to liken it to that annoying co-worker who can never remember your name, how that generally makes one feel, just turned way up.

    Like

All questions and comments are welcome. You can ask an anonymous question to TIMP at theyismypronoun.tumblr.com.

